Hare

Can you see me? I try to do what I’m supposed to do but it’s never *quite* right. I mess up, miss a step, take the path you didn’t choose. I aim for the shot, usually bounce and miss. From time to time, I hit the mark, but the clock sped by. I set my sights for the destination, focus, step by step. I’ll make it there, soon.

Though, you never wished for the tortoise; you begged for the hare. Get to the destination! It’s right there! You can literally see it, you remind me. Tell me my every wrong turn. Tell me of all of your victories, and how I have none. Slyly, a whiff of breath; a joke of Freudian slip.

I’m running, and running; I’ll get there soon. Not every pothole is planned, not every misstep is against you. For shame, I shall not have, when I’ve fought this far. The shot is mine, the speed is fine. I’ve already won. Can you see me; can you see what I’ve done?

Leave a comment